Admin

Science



Hands Holding Earth.png

The Science Department at Milford Mill Academy is committed to creating scientifically literate citizens by providing the fundamental principles that will lay a foundation upon which to build lifelong learning. It is our goal to inspire students to give serious consideration to careers in science based on their experiences in our classrooms.  This will be accomplished through variety of courses and electives being offered next year that are available at various levels to support the student’s needs. 

To accomplish this goal, the following courses are being offered for 2018-2019 school year:  Aquatics, Advanced Placement (AP) Biology, Advanced Placement (AP) Chemistry, Earth Systems at the Standard, Honors, Gifted and Talented/Advanced Academics (GT/AA) levels, Forensics, Integrated Physics and Chemistry (IPC) at the Standard, Honors, Gifted and Talented/ Advanced Academics levels, Living Systems at the Standard, Honors, Gifted and Talented/ Advanced Academics levels, Microbiology, and Physics at the Standard, Honors, and Advanced Placement (AP). 

Our teachers are committed to the use of technology in science while making real-world applications to content. and incorporating real-world applications; therefore, it is an integral part of our classroom lab experiences at Milford Mill Academy. Additionally, learning through observation and discovery is an essential process to the science experience. Labs are furnished with state of the art equipment and materials to accurately simulate laboratory experiments for investigation and active learning.  Students work with various software, graphical analysis programs, and probe-ware sensing devices that take measurements and transfer the data directly to the computers to be recorded, analyzed, and printed for evaluation.

Mission
The mission of the Office of Science PreK-12 is to work collaboratively with all stakeholder groups to define a vision for science education and to provide leadership for the development, implementation, and assessment of that vision for the Baltimore County Public Schools. These efforts are directed toward one goal—enhancing achievement for all students in science. Our teachers believe that all students can learn, and they recognize that learning is accomplished individually as well as in groups. To meet the needs of every student, the staff is committed to making science engaging, active, and relevant because they understand that the best way to learn is through personal discovery and scientific inquiry that is the hallmark of science instruction in Baltimore County Public Schools. Because it is also the goal to create lifelong learners, everyone works toward helping students develop an appreciation for the body of knowledge known as science and an understanding of how to apply it to everyday life.


Teacher

Courses for 2018-2019

Email Address

LaShawn Brown

Living Systems

Lbrown12@bcps.org

Eboni Douglas

Earth Systems and Forensics

Edouglas@bcps.org

LaTeise Jones

Environmental Science and Living Systems

Ljones17@bcps.org

Michael Manning

Earth Systems and Living Systems

Mmanning3@bcps.org

DeToiya McAliley

Aquatics and Earth Systems

Dmcaliley@bcps.org

Jordan Miller

AP Chemistry, IPC, and Physics

Jmiller31@bcps.org

Shandria Proctor

AP Physics and Physics

Sproctor@bcps.org

Dennis Scott

Anatomy & Physiology, AP Biology, and Microbiology

Dscott7@bcps.org

Jeffrey Smith

Earth Systems and IPC

Jsmith28@bcps.org

Evelyn Lewis, Paraeducator

 

Elewis@bcps.org





Questions? Contact Mrs. LaShawn Brown, Science Department Chair (
lbrown12@bcps.org)