Science



Image of various science tools surrounding the word science. 

The Science Department at Milford Mill Academy is committed to creating scientifically literate citizens by providing the fundamental principles that will lay a foundation upon which to build lifelong learning. It is our goal to inspire students to give serious consideration to careers in science based on their experiences in our classrooms.  This will be accomplished through variety of courses and electives being offered next year that are available at various levels to support the student’s needs. 

To accomplish this goal, the following science courses are being offered for 2021-2022 School Year:  Anatomy and Physiology, Chemistry at the Honors and Gifted and Talented/Advanced Academics (GT/AA) levels, Earth Systems at the Standard, Honors and GT/AA levels, Forensic Science, Integrated Physics and Chemistry (IPC), Physics Honors and Advanced Placement (AP), and Living Systems at the Standard, Honors, and GT/AA levels.  The following Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Biomedical Sciences Courses are being offered through the science department as a part of the Career Technical Education (CTE) program offerings: PLTW Principles of Biomedical Sciences and PLTW Human Body Systems.  These are the first two courses in the PLTW Biomedical Sciences program.

Our teachers are committed to the use of technology in science while making real-world applications to content. and incorporating real-world applications; therefore, it is an integral part of our classroom lab experiences at Milford Mill Academy. Additionally, learning through observation and discovery is an essential process to the science experience. Labs are furnished with state-of-the-art equipment and materials to accurately simulate laboratory experiments for investigation and active learning.  Students work with various software, graphical analysis programs, and probe-ware sensing devices that take measurements and transfer the data directly to the computers to be recorded, analyzed, and printed for evaluation.

Mission
The mission of the Office of Science PreK-12 is to work collaboratively with all stakeholder groups to define a vision for science education and to provide leadership for the development, implementation, and assessment of that vision for the Baltimore County Public Schools. These efforts are directed toward one goal—enhancing achievement for all students in science. Our teachers believe that all students can learn, and they recognize that learning is accomplished individually as well as in groups. To meet the needs of every student, the staff is committed to making science engaging, active, and relevant because they understand that the best way to learn is through personal discovery and scientific inquiry that is the hallmark of science instruction in Baltimore County Public Schools. Because it is also the goal to create lifelong learners, everyone works toward helping students develop an appreciation for the body of knowledge known as science and an understanding of how to apply it to everyday life.


Teacher

Courses for 2020-2021

Email Address

LaShawn Brown, Science Dept Chair

Anatomy & Physiology, Living Systems and
PLTW HBS

Lbrown12@bcps.org

Eboni Douglas

Earth Systems, Forensics, and

PLTW PBS

Edouglas@bcps.org

LaTeise Jones

IPC

Ljones17@bcps.org

Michael Manning

Living Systems

Mmanning3@bcps.org

DeToiya McAliley

Earth Systems

Dmcaliley@bcps.org

Jordan Miller

Chemistry GT/AA and IPC

Jmiller31@bcps.org

Nicole Reed

Living Systems

Nreed3@bcps.org

Anton Smith

Earth Systems

Asmith22@bcps.org

Jeffrey Smith

Chemistry Hon, Physics Hon, and AP Physics I

Jsmith28@bcps.org

Sir Stephens

Earth Systems, Living Systems, IPC and Class Support

 

sstephens@bcps.org

Evelyn Lewis

Paraeducator, Lab and Class Support

Elewis@bcps.org


Questions? Contact Mrs. LaShawn Brown, Science Department Chair (
lbrown12@bcps.org)